Lakers Roll Past Wayne State, 6-1, for CHA Title

Story Courtesy of Mercyhurst Sports Information

Erie, Pa. – The No. 3 Mercyhurst College women’s hockey team claimed its seventh consecutive College Hockey America tournament trophy as the Lakers rolled past Wayne State, 6-1, in the CHA championship game Saturday afternoon at the Mercyhurst Ice Center. 

The Lakers, winners of eight straight tournament championships (seven CHA, one GLWHA) since 2002, set the school record for most consecutive wins at 15 and gave head coach Michael Sisti his 250th career victory.

Mercyhurst (29-5-0) secured the title by jumping out to a 4-1 lead in the first period. The Lakers tormented starting netminder Delayne Brian by scoring three times on their first five shots. Junior captain Meghan Agosta, the 2009 CHA Player of the Year, started the run with her 37th of the season at 2:22 followed by tallies from freshman Meghan Corbett at 3:41 and freshman Kelley Steadman at 6:20. 

The three goals forced Wayne State to replace Brian with Amanda Park, who played the remaining 53:40 with 31 saves. 

Shortly after the change, freshman Jess Jones pushed the lead to four with her fourth of the tournament at 13:11.

Wayne State rounded out the first period with a power-play goal from Natalie Payne at 16:17.

Despite the offensive surge in the opening frame, the Lakers were shutout for most of the second. Senior assistant captain Valerie Chouinard ended the scoring drought when she connected off a pass from tournament MVP sophomore Jesse Scanzano at 19:28. Scanzano finished with a game-high three assists to go along with her four points against Niagara.

Mercyhurst added its sixth score in the third, as Agosta found the back of the net for the second time with her 38th of the season at 13:46.

The Lakers held a 39-13 advantage in shots and converted 1-for-7 on the power-play. The Warriors, ranked second in the country with the extra-man, finished 1-for-8.

Freshman Hillary Pattenden made 12 saves to improve to 22-2-0 on the season and mark the third-highest single season win total in program history. 

With the conference tournament now in the books, the Lakers will wait to hear from the NCAA selection committee on Sunday, March 8 to see if they qualify for the 2009 tournament. Selections are expected to be announced at 6:30 p.m.

2009 College Hockey America All-Tournament Team

F -- Meghan Agosta (Mercyhurst)

F -- Jess Jones (Mercyhurst)

F -- Melissa Boal (Wayne State)

D -- Geena Prough (Mercyhurst)

D -- Natalie Payne (Wayne State)

G -- Hillary Pattenden (Mercyhurst) 

2009 CHA Tournament Most Valuable Player -- Jesse Scanzano, Mercyhurst